The Schools Division of Calbayog City was created under RA 3269 Section 25 entitled Bureau of Public Schools. It was previously under the Division of Samar and was only separated from its mother division in 1967 having a temporary office at Calbayog Pilot Central School. After a few years it occupied the second floor of the main building of Calbayog East Central School for almost 40 years. It transferred to its new site at the old DPWH Complex on January 21, 2013. Calbayog City Division is one of the thirteen (13) divisions under DepEd Region VIII. It is in charge of the administration, supervision and monitoring of the operations and performance of 173 public and 9 private schools, all located in the City of Calbayog.